Nîmes notes

a picture diary from a Roman town in the south of France

Four swans

Leave a comment

four swansThere are four swans living in the source Nemausa, or Nemausa spring at Jardins de la Fontaine: two whites and two blacks. They’ve been there since last autumn, and naturally grasping everyones attention. Like mine, whenever I visit the gardens.

Where I come from, a white swan crossing a black river represents death. Right before publishing this photo, I opened my email and received a message from a wife, whose husband had just died. I don’t know either of them, personally. But I had received periodically information on Camargue and the local culture from the man now deceased, and learned a lot from these updates. The wife assured that the work of her husband will not die with him, and all this suddenly touched me. Life – and death – of completely unknown people became close. So, with this photo I wish to send my thoughts… well, just out there.

Author: nimes notes

Picture diaries from Nîmes (and Marseille), South of France

Leave a Reply

