Nîmes notes

a picture diary from a Roman town in the south of France

Matador the super star

2 Comments

When I read on the web that a large image of the legendary matador José Tomas had been painted on the wall of a building opposite of the Arènes, I soon hurried to see it – and to finally buy the tickets for the corrida Tomas was going to perform solo on Sunday.

Well. The painting I saw. But the tickets I didn’t get.

“For José Tomas? Non, non, madame, it’s all sold out!” shook her head the lady at the ticket office, and I had to admit I’m still far from an aficionado. I was late. Dreadfully late.

Later I read that not only the tickets were sold out, but also the hotels were fully booked. And that people were coming from 26 different countries, only to see José Tomas! And that this is his third corrida this season. A few years ago he was seriously wounded by a bull in Mexico, and his recovery has been cited as a miracle. I really wanted to see this man with no fear, facing six toros all by himself. Well… hopefully then some other day.

(The credits for the wall art go to Sylvain Fraysse.)

Author: nimes notes

Picture diaries from Nîmes (and Marseille), South of France

2 thoughts on “Matador the super star

  1. Pingback: José Tomás on the wall | Nîmes notes

  2. Pingback: Another torero on the wall | Nîmes notes

Leave a comment